Skip to content

Sauteed Tempeh and Veggies

December 19, 2010

My new favorite healthy meal these days is sauteed tempeh (a great meat alternative) and veggies. Being part Indonesian, it’s only fitting that I eat tempeh because it’s a soy product originating in Indonesia. And, it’s suuuper healthy (high protein, high fiber, low sodium), super low-cal (only 200 cals a serving/4 oz.), very filling, and tasty. And you don’t have to worry about trimming off any nasty fat like you would have to with real meat. You can find it at most alternative grocery stores (i.e. Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, PCC, etc.), and it’s fairly low cost (around $3 for 8 oz.). Sauteed in some olive oil, soy sauce, and spices, it makes for a very tasty meal.

Simply chop up some of your favorite veggies (or whatever you have on hand), and saute in olive oil. I like carrots and celery. I sprinkle some celery salt, pepper, and paprika, and let the veggies get a little tender. I transfer the veggies to a bowl, and add chopped tempeh to my pan. I add in more olive oil as necessary, a couple splashes of soy sauce, and more celery salt and pepper. I saute the tempeh until golden brown and a little crispy, and add to my bowl of veggies. This meal is so delicious!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

