Skip to content

Nutritional Yeast on Popcorn

January 3, 2011

One of my most favorite munchie snacks is popcorn with nutritional yeast (sometimes referred to as brewer’s yeast). It’s a great way to fulfill your munchies craving without all the fat and grease of most munchies snacks. If you know me, you know that I have a major salty tooth (okay, I also have a major sweet tooth), and it’s hard for me to resist those hi-calorie snacks in the snack food aisle at the grocery store. Fortunately, popcorn with nutritional yeast hits the spot.

Sure, I love me my doritos, my pringles, my cheetos, my Tim’s Cascade jalapeno chips (my absolute fave), my chex mix…yum, yum, yum. But a single serving of chips (usually around 10 or 11 chips) averages 150 calories. Not bad if you stick to those 10 or 11 chips. But who does that? It’s so hard to stop eating them, for the satisfying crunch of the deep-fried goodness mixed with the powdery/cheesy seasoning is addictive.

Fortunately, the healthy alternative of popcorn with nutritional yeast saves the day! Make some popcorn on the stove in a little bit of oil (I use my whirly pop), skip the butter, add a dash or two of garlic salt, and generously sprinkle some nutritional yeast on top of your popcorn, and you’re good to go. Two tbsp of the stuff is only about 50 calories! And it has a super nutty, cheesy flavor that vegetarians and vegans alike (and omnivores like me) just adore. SO good. So savory. So flavorful. So addictive. But way healthier than chip flavoring you’ll get in a bag of munchies. Nutritional yeast is loaded with amino acids, B-vitamins, protein, and fiber.

You can get it in the bulk foods aisle at groceries like Whole Foods, Fred Meyer, or the PCC. Mmm, mmm, good.

Leave a Reply

