Skip to content

Water

March 30, 2011

Water. Good old H two O.  Tasteless and odorless, yet deliciously satisfying. Especially if you’re dehydrated.

Did you know that nine times out of ten, if you’re hungry you’re probably actually thirsty instead? True story. And did you know if you reach the point of being thirsty, you’re already far beyond dehydration? Not good.

I’ve been reading this fabulous book called “Why French Women Don’t Get Fat” by Mireille Guiliano and the book is pretty much a bible for any person, male or female, trying to stay fit and healthy. One of the chapters that really impressed me was about staying hydrated and remembering to drink water throughout the day. Such a simple tip, such common knowledge, yet typically and easily forgotten and often under-appreciated.

I have a busy job these days and I often spend the entire day at my desk (yes, I even eat lunch at my desk while I work), only getting up to ask my boss a question here or there. That means 1) I’m not getting up to refill my drinking glass and 2) I’m not drinking enough water to even have the urge to use the restroom. Two very, very unfortunate things.

To function at capacity, we need to be drinking eight 8 oz. cups of water a day (you know this already)! More if you’re active and sweat a lot. How much do you actually drink?

The benefits of drinking water are enormous and include healthier skin, healthier hair, decreased appetite for food, and ultimately, weight loss. Drink some water the next time you crave a snack, and keep on doing this, and I bet you will start to see yourself not only losing weight, but feeling more alert, more alive, and ultimately, happier and healthier.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

