Skip to content

Veggie Stir-fry

April 7, 2011

I realized after going through some of my posts that the majority of my entries are for high-cal treats and do not actually represent who I am or what I usually eat. I think it’s because these rare treats excite me and I want to document making them, eating them, and enjoying them more than the mundane things I consume. That being said, I feel compelled to share with you one of my current favorite recipes–veggie stir-fry. THIS is what I usually eat throughout the week, usually everyday, for either lunch or dinner.

I love Trader Joe’s selection of veggies. This past week I grabbed a bag of Brussel sprouts (only 80 cals a serving), a bag of baby carrots, a bag of shelled soybeans, and a couple bell peppers (one red, one yellow).

Simply chop up the veggies into bite-sized pieces, and saute in some olive oil. Start with the Brussel sprouts as they take the longest to cook. Then add the carrots, and lastly add the bell pepper pieces. While cooking these veggies, bring some water to a boil and boil the soybeans for 5 minutes (as indicated in the instructions on the bag). Add them to the stir-fry. Season with some salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and maybe a drizzle of balsamic. Toss everything together. I like to sprinkle a handful of almonds or cashews for extra protein and a delicious crunch. Yum. A healthy, colorful, low-cal, filling meal!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

