Skip to content

South African Dinner

July 30, 2011

Tonight, my friends and I made a South African themed dinner of chicken curry, yellow rice, and mini vegan bunny chow (curry in a loaf of bread) served with roti from Pam’s Kitchen, and malva pudding (kind of like sticky toffee pudding) for dessert!

A few years ago I was fortunate to spend the holidays with South African friends in Durban, South Africa and to this day, I still proclaim that while there I consumed some of the best food I have ever eaten in my life. Over the course of the month that I was there, my taste buds were continuously surprised, teased, and pleased. South African cuisine is amazing because it is influenced by many other cultures which, independently, have great food, but while combined come together to become this hodgepodge of deliciousness.

Often referred to as “rainbow cuisine,” South African food is influenced by Indian, Malaysian/Indonesian, Dutch, British, and Portuguese food. It utilizes lots of spices, curries, and sambals. It is known for stews, curried dishes, chutneys, samosas, and sausages. Oh yes, South Africans love their meats like biltong and boerewors.

And let’s not forget their sweets! My word, when I was there I tried new desserts I never even heard of like milk tart, malva pudding (Oprah’s fave) and tennis biscuit delight.

malva pudding I made. Tastes better than it looks. SO good.

So, due to my love of South African food, it was about time I recreated some of the dishes I enjoyed while there for a South African themed dinner for me and my friends. What a feast!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 11, 2011 10:51 am

    Everything looks yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

